Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Hurston/Wright Award for College Writers

- Deadline: January 15, 2008

The Hurston/Richard Wright Award™ for College Writers has been established
by novelist Marita Golden to honor excellence in fiction writing by students of
African descent enrolled full time as an undergraduate or graduate student in
any college or university in the United States.

The first place award of $1,000, and two finalist awards of $500 will be
announced in April for the writers of the best previously unpublished short story
or novel excerpt.


At the time of submission, applicants must be enrolled in a college or
university full time as an undergraduate or graduate student. Writers who have
published a book in any genre are ineligible.

How to Apply:Those applying for the Hurston/Wright Award should submit 2 copies of a double-spaced manuscript, of no more than 15 pages (of a novel) or 20-25 pages (of a short story) typed in a 12 pt. font, along with a $10 processing fee (money order only) to:

The Hurston/Wright Awards
6525 Belcrest Road
Suite 531Hyattsville, MD 20782

Please indicate on each of the two (2) copies of the manuscript whether it is a short story or novel excerpt. Only one story may be submitted per applicant. Manuscripts will not be returned. Your name, address, phone number, email address, and school in which you are enrolled should be enclosed on a separate sheet. Do not include your name on any manuscript page.
To ensure acknowledgment of receipt of your submission, you may send it by
certified mail, receipt requested.Deadline:

Submissions must be received between November 1, 2007 and post marked no later then January 15, 2008. The nominated winner and finalists will be required to provide a verification of college enrollment and a photo. Previous winners are not eligible.
Post a Comment

Blog Archive